Nevada Medical Marijuana
|Dispensaries and Clinics|
In 2000, Nevada became one of the few states to amended the state constitution to recognize protection from prosecution for individuals using cannabis for medical relief. Nevada Medical Marijuana law established a registry administered by the Department of Health, and instituted guidelines for qualifying conditions and possession limits. Specific literature stresses the role of the Nevada School of Medicine to relentlessly pursue permission from the federal government to form a state operated medical cannabis distribution program.
Medical Marijuana Nevada law is very detailed in respect to the registration process, as well prosecution limits and guidelines. While the registration process is available, individuals who are not registered may still use medical need as an affirmative defense if prosecuted for any acts related to the consumption of cannabis. Resident of Nevada interested in registering as a patient must complete 5 applications, and supply a copy to: the patient, caregiver—if applicable, attending physician, Department of Health, and the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History. In addition to the application, qualifying applicants must provide written verification from their physician, as well as proof of residency of both patient and caregiver—if applicable. Contact information for the registry is:
Nevada Division of Health
1000 E. Williams St, #209
Carson City, NV 89701
The registration fee for Nevada Medical Marijuana is $150 annually, with a $50 application fee.
Qualifying debilitating conditions under Nevada Medical Marijuana law include:
Nevada Medical Marijuana law limits the amount cannabis a patient and caregiver may possess. For usable forms of cannabis, the limit is one ounce. In terms of cultivation, a patient/caregiver may have three flowering plants and four non-flowering. If a patient or caregiver is found to be in excess of the above stated amounts, they are no longer free from prosecution, but may still use a medical necessity defense if their excess amounts are deemed necessary by their attending physician. Medical Marijuana Nevada law does not specify how collective or dispensaries are to operate. Individuals looking to establish such organizations should consult a local attorney.
Nevada Medical Marijuana law offers no protection from patients registered in any other state. In addition, no insurance companies are required to reimburse any expenses related to the consumption or cultivation of medical marijuana. Finally, no employer or housing authority is required to tolerate consumption on the job or in a housing complex.
News & Updates
Like many states, Nevada is currently experiencing a lot of confusion in relation to its medical marijuana laws. It seems to be a common occurrence these days as lawmakers seek to heavily restrict laws that were recently passed by majority voters.
The main focus of these restrictions seems to be the medical marijuana dispensaries, which provide patients with the drug. This is the case with Nevada, which allows patients to possess medical marijuana but still makes the buying and selling of marijuana illegal.
Proponents of further legalization of the medical marijuana in Nevada seem to be fighting an uphill battle. Nevada Medical Marijuana law is one of the more stringent set of laws of the current group of states offering protection for those with medical need.